Aside

Yesterday was my mountain

I never intended for this blog to turn out the way it is. I started this blog as a place to write about ‘life’ where I could look back and reflect. It was my version of my friend Scott’s happiness challenge to me. To share things as I would with my sister. It was a platform I found more ‘me’ than tumblr. Its turned out to be a venting place of all of my frustrations. The positivity is not exactly oozing from each post and as much as life is draining me right now, so is this blog. So yesterday, I took action.

I mustered the smallest amount of motivation from who knows where, convinced The Queen to get off her butt and climb a mountain with me. Convincing her was almost as hard as climbing the mountain itself – the mountain was hardly a monster, but a mountain all the same. I used to do this kind of thing all the time. In my spare time I was always off exploring or walking somewhere new or long since visited. Where did all those times go? They are a part of me. A part of my happiness. It needed to change. Fast.

Yesterday, whatever it was I was looking for up there, I found it. I am feeling refreshed and a lot more optimistic about life.

I’m no photographer and my phone is barely a camera but I wanted to add a couple of photos from the walk.

Look back at Leisure Island

This photo was taken from part way up. Sometimes, when my bestie is over from Australia, we go fishing off the end of closest island.

Looking down on the mount retouched

On the way up, it was hard not to stop and admire the views even though we knew they would probably be even better from the top.

Looking out to sea retouched

 

It was such a stunning afternoon. Sunny and bright but not too hot – thankfully!!

 

Palms

In certain spots it felt a little bit like we were on a tropical island somewhere far away.

Me at the top of the mount

And finally, I made it. It only took us about 45 minutes to the top up many-a-stair. Our reward? Walking all the way back down. My knees were a little wobbly on the steps on the way back to the beach, but it was worth it. I might have to do it again. Is next week to soon?

2 thoughts on “Yesterday was my mountain

Leave a comment