Jessca Petal

Last week, a long time friend of mine moved in with us. She moved after only being back in NZ about 2 years. Why did she move… to be closer to me of course!

When I used to visit her, I’d make the hour or so drive to her house and then we’d hang out for 3 or 4 days and then I’d head home. Or vice versa. After a couple of days, I’d be sick of her company. Getting frustrated at the way she does things, annoyed at not being able to do what I want, when I want and various other niggles too. I know she felt the same too. We’ve talked about that happening if we live together. At school (and since) we’ve always said we could never live together!

When we talked about her moving here, I was worried. I thought that a couple of days in, I’d feel the same. I thought I’d get really frustrated, really quickly. Being the only female in the house is great and I thought it would take some getting used to, having another female in the house.

A week into her living here, I’ve been proven very wrong. It’s been so much fun. I’ve had someone on hand to go on adventures with when Justin is at work. I’ve had someone to de-brief with after work. I’ve had someone to watch crappy TV with. I’ve had someone to help me word my job applications. I’ve had someone to help me clean the house or do little jobs that need to be done. I’ve had someone to laugh with. I’ve had someone to share the ups and the downs with. It has been amazing. Don’t get me wrong, its taken some adjusting. The little things. But, I’ve been pleastantly surprised and I’ve actually really loved having her here.

It’s only a short term thing until she finds a suitable place for her. I am seriously going to miss her when she goes. I wonder if she can stay, just a little while longer….

Leave a Reply

